Bureaucracies of the world; episode two

Last week I went to the Social Security Administration office to request a reduction in my Medicare premium. I forgot to bring anything to read, so I entertained myself by making these notes:

Tuesday June 19th, 2012

10:39 – I take #45, the next number to be called, from the dispenser machine . There are two windows staffed by social security employees.  Both windows are occupied, with clients providing detailed descriptions of their requests and experiences.

10:49 – I am called to Window 1

11:52 – After explaining my request to the agent at Window 1 I sit down again and wait to be called for the next step in the process. I am awaiting entrance to a large room with a locked door, staffed by two security officers who are inside sitting on chairs and chatting. No one has entered or left the locked room since my arrival.

11:52 – The folks at Window 2 complete their explanation; Window 2 is now free.

11:54 – A man drops off a document at Window 1.

11:55 – The man who preceded me at Window 1, #44,  is called into the locked room by a large woman in a yellow dress.

11:55 – #46, a woman I happen to know, is called to W1.

11:58 – #46 is done at W1; I say hello as she is leaving and we chat about the complexities of Medicare and the health insurance system

12:00 – #47 is called to W1. I realize I am experiencing a social/economic/political/cultural phenomenon.

12:02 – The security guys continue chatting

12:03 – I notice W2 is now dark. I realize the person I heard leaving for lunch a few minutes ago must have been staffing W2. I worry that everyone will go to lunch and my wait will be longer.

12:07 –  A man with a cane leaves the locked room. I get the feeling there is little incentive to work quickly of efficiently, although all workers seem pleasant and polite.

12:07 – I notice through the window into the locked room that #44 is still seated at the desk of the woman  in the yellow dress.

12:09 – #47 leaves W1 and the office

12:10 – A person arrives, takes ticket #48, and is immediately called to W1.

12:11 – A woman arrives and takes ticket #49.

12:14 – Another worker walks by the window of the locked room with a folder (my folder?) in his hands. My hopes soar.

12:15 – A woman in blue passes by the window, heading in the direction of W1. Going to get my paperwork?

12:20 – The woman in blue calls my name; I enter the locked room and sit at her desk. She says her name is Ellen. She takes a few minutes to log into her computer while we share humorous comments about the unresponsiveness of systems.  She is pleasant and asks me a few questions. She goes to get come additional information and/or forms.

12:22 – I run out to feed the meter. Optimistic, I add 30 minutes.  I return, following two 30+ men dressed in khaki pants and golf like shirts, carrying lunch takeout.  They enter the large room via a combination lock door. The security agents let me reenter through the other door.

12:31 – As I await the Ellen’s return, I notice the security guard post is unoccupied. I think it is strange that both have left, but then notice that one is walking around in the waiting room. I continue to sit at the desk and wonder if I am being video recorded.

12:37 – Ellen returns. In a few more minutes we have completed the transaction – information provided, data entered, forms signed.

12:59 – I exit the locked room. I experience an awareness of gratitude for my good health and fortune, and leave the office with increased respect for the people working there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

